Pre Service Training Pt 2

So I finally figured out the reasoning behind Pre Service Training (PST) and Community Based Training (CBT)  which is what I am currently doing.  It’s a two arm process- 1. Peace Corps Boot camp – get the new recruits educated and arm them with the basics -2. while making it a high pressure environment to separate the chaff from the wheat so to speak.

Am I overwhelmed with paperwork already? Yes.  You would think in a digital age.. Peace Corps would have converted all texts and paperwork to PDF and required a laptop for everyone. I do believe the paperwork alone weights in at a good 10 lbs.

So if I gained weight since coming to Morocco.. its all paper weight.. I swear.

PST has smoothed out as I have gotten into the rhythm of the schedule.

7:30 am – Breakfast

8am to 10 am – Language Class

10:00 am – Tea and Coffee Break

10:15 – 12:00- More language class

12:45- 2pm Lunch and nap time

2pm – 3:30 pm – Lecture on anything from Safety and Security to Internet Policies or Language Class continues.

4:15 pm- 4:30 pm – Tea and Coffee Break

4:30 – 5:30 pm – More lectures or extended language classes

5:30 – 7:30 pm – Free Time

7:30 pm – Dinner

7:30 pm – 9pm – Free Time

9:00 pm – Curfew – Be Back at Center by this time

The getting to know other PCT (Peace Corps Trainee’s) continues but many come from interesting backgrounds – banking, fundraising for political parties, journalism etc.. you name it we probably have it in our group.

Its really interesting to also have a PCT who actually heard JFK give his speech about forming the Peace Corps in our group!!

So far language class has been confusing at times because I already studied Modern Standard Arabic for a while in University and Darija isn’t the same at all. I was in one class that focused mostly on memorization and repetition but then got moved to a different class and CBT group because of another PCT’s medical needs.

It actually worked out given my new group is based on the conversational method and I am happy my teacher has a more outgoing personality that the last one.

Right before I left for CBT I got struck down with food poisoning.. which was horrible!   I was basically layed out.  What I drank had me running to the bathroom within 5 minutes to use to toliet. (Hasak)  I could barely walk anywhere without needing to rest for 15 -20 minutes.  I was determined to go to CBT and so struggled to pack my bags and take the items I didn’t need down to the storage unit with the help of Mimi another PCT. I seriously thought about heading home at this point because I wasn’t sure how I was going to cope.

I am not sure if the up chucking was more horrible.. but I felt 99% better afterwards.. it was like a miracle pill… well if you could call up chucking that.    Alhumdualillah my body took care of itself and I was able to leave the next morning for CBT.

Leave a Reply

